You are here

Back to top

Staff Picks

These are a few of the books we have recently read and would encourage you to check them out!

Redhead by the Side of the Road: A novel Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780525658412
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Knopf - April 7th, 2020

A self-employed tech expert and superintendent of his Baltimore apartment building, Micah Mortimer never, ever looks for a change in routine. But when the woman in his life faces eviction and a teenager shows up on his doorstep claiming to be his son, Micah has got to adjust. Judy said this is a good novel with strong characterization. 


Gideon the Ninth (The Locked Tomb Trilogy #1) Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781250313195
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tor.com - September 10th, 2019

Aly thinks that this book has a little bit of everything: sword fights, dramatic teenagers, delightful parental figures, light interplanetary travel, locked-room murder mystery, necromancers, identity theft, and heroic sacrifice. 

Nothing is as it seems. No one is what they appear to be. 

And if this all seems very serious, that isn’t everything. Gideon is a smart idiot with a comment for everything. I recommend GIdeon the Ninth for anyone looking for a semi-serious read that keeps you guessing and keeps you entertained from page one on.


The Toll (Arc of a Scythe #3) Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781481497060
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - November 5th, 2019

Katherine began reading this trilogy at the begining of quarantine, and she has sped through it. The premise of the book is that the world has achieved perfection, including overcoming death. Now, they need Scythe's to kill people to limit overcrowding. The books are a quick read, and they follow various storyline, which keeps it interesting. 


Sing, Unburied, Sing: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781501126079
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scribner - May 8th, 2018

Clara's pick is a gripping, poetic tale of a family born in injustice and knitted together by desperation.  Jesmyn Ward deftly weaves this family's complicated history into its unraveling future through multiple voices straddling past and present.


Imaginary Friend Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781538731338
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Grand Central Publishing - October 1st, 2019

Aly says this is a scary story that never really goes where you think it will.  It is a delightfully  chilling combination of Sixth Sense and Stranger Thing, with bits of It and The Shining; with chapters focusing on Kte Reese, her son Christopher, and occasionally, going back in time to when all this happened before.  Perfect for fans of Stephen King, or anyone looking to start their first foray into the horror genre.


Kingdom of the Blind: A Chief Inspector Gamache Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250066305
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Minotaur Books - June 25th, 2019

Chriss picked this book but many of us have read and love Louise Penny.  Her Chief Inspector Gamache books take you to the fictional town of Three Pines and a cast of characters that you will enjoy following in all 14 of this series.  I encourage you to begin with the first book, Still Life, and read them in order as you will better understand  Armand Gamache and the wonderful inhabitants of Three Pines.

 


The Round House: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062065254
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper Perennial - September 24th, 2013

Taylor says this story was so interesting.  You could see and feel the traumatic events that take place in this book through the eyes of a 13 year old boy in 1988.


Lalani of the Distant Sea Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062747273
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Greenwillow Books - September 3rd, 2019

This book is a spellbinding Filipino folk tale of an extraordinary "ordinary" twelve year old girl who trusts her heart and gut despite what others say to save her village.  Lalani faces countless surprises and obstacles, but by sticking to her values, she receives help from unlikely supporters.  I could not put this book down!

Recommended by Clara


This Tender Land: A Novel Cover Image
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9781476749297
Availability: Backordered
Published: Atria Books - September 3rd, 2019

William Kent Krueger has gifted us with another treasure. His newest novel, This Tender Land is a story told by Odie O'Banion, an eight year old orphan, about surviving the horrors of Lincoln Indian Training School along with his older brother Albert and their friends Mose and Emmy. Set in southern Minnesota in 1932 the four of them escape by canoe traveling toward the Mississippi River determined to find a place they feel safe, a home. They faced terrible times of hunger, danger from those who would do them harm, and uncertainty about where they will end up. We are reminded of the terrible challenges faced by those living through the depression and heart broken witnessing these children fending as best they could, discovering strengths they didn't know they had to keep going towards a better place. I loved those kids and was grateful for whatever kindness they were shown during their odyssey. There are still children on long journeys struggling to find that safe place, a home  

Highly recommended by Judy


Raven Black: Book One of the Shetland Island Mysteries Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780312359676
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Minotaur Books - June 24th, 2008

Looking for a new mystery series? Maybe not so violent and graphic? Try Shetland Island Mysteries by Ann Cleeves. Judy recommends reading Raven Black first for the introduction to the main characters. 


Brightly Burning Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781328948939
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - May 1st, 2018

Brightly Burning by Alexa Donne is a combingation of two of my favorite things: Jane Eyre and space. In the future Earth is recovering from humans, so humans live on a series of ships. Some people live in large city-sized ships; while others, if ther're rich enough, live in single family space yachts. But even with all the new technology, governesses are still needed, and Stell a sees that as her ticket off the city ship she's on. We follow her as she moves onto the Rochester to teach the young captain's younger sister. What follows is a story fit for SciFi fans and classic romance fans alike.

Recommended by Aly